In our experience, one of the most important steps in becoming a “true” Luxembourger is to learn the language of the heart for all Luxembourgers, Lëtzebuergesch. 

Liz Wenger from Learn Luxembourgish has produced the first text book designed to teach English speakers Luxembourgish. Her business also provides online, weekly Skype-based classes to teach the text book. Over the last several months, LuxCitizenship has had the pleasure to review the Learn Luxembourgish textbook and online classes. We can’t recommend it enough and we’re delighted to partner with Learn Luxembourgish to share the Language with you.

Text Book

No time to take an online course? Start teaching yourself Luxembourgish with Learn Luxembourgish. Learn Luxembourgish is the first text book for teaching Luxembourgish written in English. Approved by the Ministry of Education in Luxembourg, the book is a fun way to teach yourself Luxembourgish across chapters laid out on conversation themes that teach you Luxembourgish grammar at the same time. Designed for adult learners, but approachable for younger readers, the book is accompanied by audio recordings of the materials and online flashcards.

Order online at learnluxembourgish.com.
Retail price is €34.99 (approximately $39.00).

Online Classes

Did you know you can join a class to learn Luxembourgish even in the US?

It works through the live online Skype classes that Learn Luxembourgish organizes on a regular basis. They take place entirely online through Skype and other fun educational tools to teach you Luxembourgish in an engaging way.

Give yourself or your adult children the gift of speaking a new language!

Here are the latest class times you can sign up for, starting in January:

Level: A1 Basics (for complete beginners, no pre-existing knowledge required)

• from January 11, 2019, on Fridays from 1.15-2.15pm Luxembourg time (that’s 7.15-8.15am EST, or 4.15am PST)
4-5 students, teacher: Ashwin, 200€/person ($225) for 8 lessons of 60 minutes each, taking place once/week

• from January 12, 2019, on Saturdays from 3.30-4.30pm Luxembourg time (that’s 9.30-10.30am EST, or 6.30-7.30am PST)
4-5 students, teacher: Ashwin, 200€/person ($225) for 8 lessons of 60 minutes each, taking place once/week

• from January 14, 2019, on Mondays from 3-4am Luxembourg time (that’s 9-10pm EST, or 6-7pm PST)
4 students, teacher: Patrick, 200€/person ($225) for 8 lessons of 60 minutes each, taking place once/week

• from January 22, 2019, on Tuesdays from 4-5am Luxembourg time (that’s 10-11pm EST, or 7-8pm PST)
4 students, teacher: Patrick, 200€/person ($225) for 8 lessons of 60 minutes each, taking place once/week

• from January 23, 2019, on Wednesdays from 7.15-8.15pm Luxembourg time (that’s 1.15-2.15pm EST, or 10.15-11.15am PST)
4-5 students, teacher: Anne, 200€/person ($225) for 8 lessons of 60 minutes each, taking place once/week

In order to register for one of the above classes, please click here, then scroll down and select your preferred class time. To register, you’ll be able to pay with your US credit card (which will automatically do the currency conversion).

Are the above class times not suitable for you? Email Liz with your preferred class times and see if a group class or a private one-on-one class can be added (group classes of 4-5 students are 200€/person, private one-on-one classes are 450€ in total).